Canadian Celebrity Chefs Event

I was really happy to be involved with this event. The first year did not go without glitches that’s for sure, but I was inspired by the energy and excitement of Ottawa foodies. Kudos to Michael Blackie for all the hard work that goes into an event of this size. As someone who has planned major events, I understand the work involved.

As always I was there for the food. This is my experience I want to share with you. So here goes:

The Chef team I was matched with, Lyness and Bear did an amazing job on their dish and call me biased if you want, it was my fave.

Chef Clifford Lyness

Before The Kill

Chef Ray Bear

The Dish

Poached Atlantic lobster, Bridge sparkling wine beurre blanc,  Le Coprin mushrooms, sweetbreads with candied fennel, corn flan, water cress sprouts and black olive purée.

The lobster brought by Chef Bear was heavenly, melt-in-your-mouth. It was my first time having sweetbreads, I am still trying to decide if I liked them…I ate them. I loved Chef Lyness’s creamy, little corn flan.

A very close second I would have to say was the dish created by the Langley/Long team. Shiitake poached pickerel, beurre noissette,dressed grains + greens and the magic on the plate, a crispy crème fraiche oyster. Charlotte Langley was the youngest and the only woman there and she rocked!

Charlotte Langley and Brad Long

Some other pictures of the event:

Michael Moffat and Anthony Walsh

Chefs Cloutier and Lepine

Santaguida's Qualicum Beach Scallops searing on a brick of salt

Chef David Rocco

Chefs Aiken and Howell

Beet risotto, crispy pig cheek, seared Qualicum beach scallop and Granny Smith slaw

Chefs Bowen and Rogalski

Chefs Santaguida and Rocco

Chefs Blackie and Lyon

My Guest!

Busy Reception

Do I look forward to a yearly event? Absolutely.

Take some time to read more about the event from these great bloggers:

beFoodled
foodiePrints
Simply Fresh
Whisk
Le Twisted Chef

18 responses »

  1. Like how you focused on your experience and not all the other bs I am hearing out there. A little short on descriptions Trace, but looks yummy.

  2. I know that the food bloggers worked hard helping to promote this event. Kudos to all of you, and to Chef Blackie for a fabulous event.

    Um, when are you taking me for brunch there?

  3. Nice writeup Tracey!

    It was great, seeing you and chatting with you. I think we all learned a lot about who our chefs were, how an ambitious first of its kind of event is thrown in Ottawa, and how to live-tweet an food event.

    Unfortunately, like you, I think we took more time to cover the event than to participate as attendees. We were on the job for our readers.

    Coffee sometime!

  4. Tracey I really enjoyed meeting you! And yes, the lobster dish was delish!! Maybe because i have a soft spot for the East coast. but that duo was definitely one of my favs.

  5. Tracey, it was great to chat with you at the event! I have to say your team did rock with that lobster. In fact, someone at work who attended the event said it was her favourite, so you’re not biased at all! Love that photo of the lobster!

  6. The wine was absolutely amazing, the pairing was perfect!
    The lobster was SOOOO amazing, I also really like the apple slaw at the on station.

    At the Halifax airport before you fly home you can buy fresh lobster right there and they package it up for the plane! Super awesome!!

  7. super positive post. I agree – Charlotte Langley totally rocked, I think she was super well paired with Brad Long and their dish was excellent (plus they had a super team of Michael Hay (Courtyard), Adam (Domus), Anna (Farbs), Kate (Whalesbone Catering) … and I also think it was nice to see all the Chefs interact with people. I had a great day – and seeing your pictures puts a smile on my face. Thanks!

  8. Hey trace, saw millie at dr lazy’s today;-) we are plotting together for your return to the patch–anyway am sending message to you here because i’m off FB and cant find your current email address–please send!

Leave a Reply

