Getting Your Greens (well some of us)

So I don’t have a juicer. If I want to make any type of drink that requires blending I use my food processor. I love my food processor and if I buy one more small appliance (blender/juicer) and try to fit it into this kitchen the size of a large bathroom, well lets just say, we would have to move.

I’m fascinated by those who regularly juice and drink smoothies for the health benefits. Who sneak in their greens and use magical protein powders. I’ve been doing some reading and thought that it was time to try them out myself.

I wanted to share, so I knew in my attempt to create a tasty beverage thats full of greens to feed the meatatarian I live with would be quite a challenge. He only eats carrots, mushrooms and peppers. True story. His idea of vegetables growing up was anything the Green Giant made in a can and he wouldn’t eat it. So it took him a long time to come around to CMP (yeah thats what I call it). What I do like about his changes is that he prefers organic or shopping at local farmer’s markets.

So I thought lets try kale. I love kale, sauteed on top of the stove in good olive oil with fresh garlic, in a salad, even baked as a chip. He however would not touch kale with a ten foot pole, the closest he gets is spinach hidden in lasagne (and I mean not visible).

I knew it must be sweet, over powering any taste of the good green stuff for him to even try. I forgot about the colour. So I happily whizzed together pineapple, banana, water, some coconut milk and some kale. I realized it looked similar to a shamrock shake, just with green flecks and that I may have a challenge in front of me, but I presented him with this lovely glass of goodness. There were no words. There seldom are anymore when I offer anything vegetable. Just a shake of the head. I didn’t even say anything. I just tipped it back and drank it myself, describing to him how delicious it was, and it was. After 18 years, I still occassionally try and once in a while he surprises me, but not this time.

Guess I’ll have to keep these gems to myself, that is unless you want to try……

smoothie

Green Goodness (2 servings)

1/2 cup pineapple
1 banana chopped
1/2 cup chopped kale
1/2 cup low-fat coconut milk
1/2 cup water
some ice

Throw it in the blender/food processor and blend to desired consistency.

2 responses »

  1. I had been buying bolthouse smoothies but finally decided to just save the container and fill it with homemade ones. I snuck some spinach into one, with ground flax , a kiwi, frozen berries and some maple syrup, turned out good but even better the next day!

Leave a Reply

