Death by Cookie

I miss Dave Nichol. I miss him presenting the newest issue of the Insider’s Report, I miss his travel tales, I miss hearing him say “Too Good to be True”.  But, even without Dave, I still love President’s Choice Products and the fabulous recipes found on the website.

A few years back a friend of mine introduced me to the cookie recipe on the back of  the package of PC Decadent Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips, these cookies are divine. I think the key is the addition of oatmeal that you have to grind to a flour consistency, it gives the cookies a nutty flavour without the texture of a true oatmeal cookie, its smoother with a bit of a crunch.

The recipe makes quite a few cookies (I got 52 out of it). They were a hit with visitors and disappeared quickly.

We both suffered from yet another sugar hangover.

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups oatmeal, blended to a fine powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Cream the butter and sugars together.
  2. Add the eggs and vanilla.
  3. In a bowl, mix the flour, oatmeal, baking powder and baking soda together and slowly mix into the wet ingredients.
  4. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  5. Roll into balls and place 2 inches apart on a non-stick baking sheet.
  6. Bake at 375°F/180°C for 10 minutes.
4 responses »

  1. So I did cook up these cookies and they were fab. I didn’t have any chocolate chips so I used my dark chocolate Swiss squares and put them through the blender. I also added some butterscotch chips (that I did have) and some kisses (miniatures with a coating on them)…then some walnuts. Yummers. Served with whole milk and I have some serious mood altering food on my hands.

Leave a Reply

