Potage Parmentier (My Version)

LeeksI feel like I have committed a crime. This past weekend I took a favourite Julia Child recipe and put my own spin on it (I can see the purists cringing now, give me a break I am off caffeine and having some issues…).

I love leeks, I love the smell of them cooking in butter on top of the stove. I love potato and leek together, but the addition of chicken stock, a couple of cloves of garlic, crumbled bacon and cheese make them fabulous!

Julia’s Recipe:

Ingredients
3-4 cups of diced peeled potatoes (1 lb.)
3 cups thinly sliced leeks, including the tender greens
2 quarts water
1 Tablespoon salt
6 tablespoons heavy cream or 3 tablespoons softened butter
3 tablespoons minced chives or parsley

Directions
Simmer vegetables, salt, and water together, partially covered for 40 minutes in a 3-4 quart saucepan. Mash the vegetables into the soup with a fork or pass through a food mill. Julia Child did not like the texture of soup pureed in a blender, I use one of those hand mixers and leave a few bits. Adjust salt and pepper. You can stop at this point. When ready to serve, bring soup back to simmering. Then off the heat, stir in the cream or butter (I use cream) and top with chopped chives or parsley. Delish! Makes 6-8 servings.

So, I replaced the water with chicken stock and added two garlic cubes to the simmering vegetables, and at the end threw in some crumbled bacon and topped it off with some good cheddar. I served it with a French stick from Richtree and my family loved it!

****Do not forget the salt.

3 responses »

  1. This is one of my favourite soups and being vegan, I just leave out the cream or butter and it’s just as good. I also do not puree it.

  2. I can hear “Auntie” julia applauding–she was not a fuss pot and would, i think, heartily approve making the recipe your own. do you have her little tiny cookbook? julia’s kitchen wisdom–it is the best of the lot and organized around master recipes and variations. this fits into that category neatly. i am going to make it this week but without the bacon for barb’s benefit;-)

Leave a Reply

