Winter Veggie Grill

We usually have a few meatless meals during the week and this week I thought I would try the meatless burger. Tired of the over-abundance of a meat filled holiday, I whipped out a recipe I have been saving for awhile, Lentil and Walnut Burger.

Okay, so easy enough to make:

1 cup of red lentils, 1 cup of breadcrumbs, 1 cup of cremini mushrooms (chopped), 1 cup of walnuts (chopped), 1 cup of red onion (chopped) and 2 teaspoons of rosemary. Basically after the lentils are cooked (in two cups water) and cooled you throw everything together and form the patties (I got 5 out of this), then throw them on the grill.

Lots of good, nutty flavour.  I used big Italian buns toasted with carmelized onions, sliced cucumber, tomato and mayo.  They were not well received by everyone (one person and we all know who he is), but good reviews all around.

Next week I am planning on a lentil loaf served up with a garlic mash and all the fixin’s. I wonder if he will notice?

One response »

Leave a Reply

