Favourite #3 Isobel’s Coconut Marshmallows

For months now I have been meaning to visit Isobel’s Cupcakes and Cookies at 117 Beechwood Ave. The pink and white awning has intrigued me for awhile and I have received many emails about trying Isobel’s cupcakes.

So Friday after work I finally went in, with every intention of buying a few cupcakes to try and then write about. Much to my dismay they were sold out, sold out at 4ish on a Friday afternoon! My disappointment lasted about 2 minutes as I realized there were so many other things there and owner Heather Holbrook assured me I could come back for more.

Heather formerly of “The French Baker” has hit a home run with her cupcake and cookie business. She was pleasant and accommodating (great patience with me in my hurry). I got a chance to speak with her about buttercream and she was gracious enough to let me try a few of her flavours (vanilla. lemon and orange) which were light, lovely and a refreshing change from the heavy buttercream that comes from my kitchen. It was a pleasure speaking with her.

A glass container full of coconut marshmallows caught my eye (among all the cookies), I had read about them on her website so I purchased one, a generous portion for 75 cents (and as you know, I always have to share with you know who).

Soft, luscious, melt-in-your-mouth piece of heaven, as a kid this is what I dreamed that clouds tasted like not the marshmallows you get in the plastic bags to take camping, in fact I won’t ever be doing that again. The toasted coconut added both nice flavour and interesting texture, I can’t even begin to imagine what this would taste like on hot chocolate.

I bought other things, but I’m going back to take cupcakes as a gift to someone this weekend (I will be sure to phone ahead!). I will probably take every visitor and friend I have there (New Edinburgh is really a must visit when one is in Ottawa)!

Check out the website http://www.isobelandco.com there is a link to the store there as well, and lots of info on ordering etc.

Isobel’s Cupcakes and Cookies, 117 Beechwood Ave., 613-742-0777

8 responses »

Leave a Reply

