Souped

Feeling in the need for some soup and trying to think of something to go with the stuffed peppers I am making tonight, I thought what better than a tomato cream?

A variation on the Rebar Tomato Cream, this soup was quick and easy, made the kitchen smell wonderful and tasted divine if I do say so myself.  My apologies to the purists but I used canned tomato as opposed to fresh (cause their not really fresh…..) and it was good use for the numerous cans in my cupboard.

Tomato Cream Soup

(makes 6-8 servings generous bowls)

6 cups chicken broth

1 large onion chopped                    

2 tbsp olive oil

6 cloves garlic chopped

2 tsp chili flakes

1/2 cup fresh basil

2 tsp salt

2  28 oz cans of diced tomatoes

1/2 cup of whole milk

1/2 cup of heavy cream

Warm the broth and keep warm. In large soup pot saute the onion in olive oil until transparent. Add garlic, chili flakes, 1/2 of the basil and 1 tsp salt, stir for 2 minutes and then add broth and tomatoes. Bring to boil cook for 10 minutes, turn to low and simmer for 20 minutes. Add cream and milk, the rest of the basil and salt. Serve.

There are lots of ways you can adjust to your preference, use other fresh herbs, use vegetable broth instead of chicken etc. Just enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. This was so incredible, I can’t even describe.

    I just realized I left the leftovers that you have me in my fridge!! Guess I’ll have to have it for dinner… But now I’m hardcore craving it!

  2. This was very delicious. Having made it ahead of time allowed all that flavor come out. I would like to try it with noodles.

Leave a Reply

