Cake Boss

This weekend was the big 4-0 for Adrian. I asked him what cake he wanted and he requested Rebar’s Carrot-Coconut Cake with Cream Cheese-White Chocolate Icing, JOY. I have made this wonderful treat a number of times and it was once again perfection.

This cake is divine, really. It’s dense, loaded with carrots, pineapple, coconut, walnuts and dates, full of flavour it is the best carrot cake I have ever had. The cream cheese icing has an added bonus of white chocolate which adds a sweet dimension, cuts out a bit of the tartness of the cream cheese and gives this delicious cake coat a glossy glow.
You can find the recipe on the Rebar site.

I have made this as a triple layer cake, in a muffin pan and using a 13 x 9 pan. I also made a chocolate cake with a chocolate buttercream icing (I had 20 people to feed).

I am jealous of folks who live in Victoria, who get to take advantage of Rebar regularly. I highly recommend purchasing the cookbook.

One response »

  1. I have the Rebar Cookbook, but have only made a few things out of it, I need to try a few more.

    Have you tried the summer harvest soup recipe?

Leave a Reply

