Rhubarb Ricotta Cheesecake

I really wanted to make the Ricotta Cheesecake with Strawberries and Balsamic in the newest edition of Food and Drink, I also really wanted to pick up some rhubarb.

Rhubarb compote or stewed rhubarb put me in mind of my Grandmother and Spring and how she loved it on toast, ice cream or in a bowl by itself. My Mother has also made this, but it’s been a long time.

We braved the cold temperatures and headed to the Main Farmers’ Market on Saturday and picked some up (among other things). It was $4.00 for a good bunch of long red stems.

I came home, cleaned, chopped and prepared the tart treat for cooking and here is the recipe I used:

1 cup (250 mL) organic cane sugar
1/4 cup (50 mL) water
6 cups (1.5 L) chopped rhubarb
1 strip lemon rind

In top of double boiler over direct heat, bring sugar and water to boil. Place over gently boiling water in bottom of double boiler; stir in chopped rhubarb, and lemon rind. Cover and cook, without stirring, for 15 to 20 minutes or until tender.

I set this aside to cool and started the cake. While I was prepping the cake I had a thought, why don’t I change up the topping? What would the rhubarb taste like on top of the cheesecake…….

This is what the cheesecake looked like going into the oven:

The recipe can be found in the LCBO’s Food and Drink Early Summer issue. Jamie Kennedy Wine Bar alum Rachelle Cadwell created this for her Dad, who loves cheesecake.

Brilliant, if I do say so myself. The cake was creamy, not very high as cheesecakes go with a delicious, nutty graham crust (the recipe calls for browning the butter first). The rhubarb sweet, with just a hint of it’s tartness left behind brought back warm memories of my Grandmother, appropriate for Mother’s Day.

My suggestion, head down to the LCBO and pick the Early Summer issue up-it’s jam-packed with fabulous recipes for the warm weather days ahead. There are warm weather days ahead right?

4 responses »

  1. This looks delicious. I went to pick up a copy of Food and Drink but they were all out. You can see some of this issue’s recipes right on their site.

  2. The rhubarb was delicious! And for being very low cal the ricotta cheesecake was perfect.

    However, as much as I try… I’m just not a huge fan of the balsamic strawberries… I loved the cheesecake with rhubarb on it:) I’m kinda craving a piece right now..

Leave a Reply

