Dufflet – Eat More Cake

On a trip to The Beaches in Toronto this past weekend, I knew a stop at Dufflet Queen East pastry shop was in order. In fact I couldn’t wait to take one of those pretty green boxes to my host’s home to present dessert.

I love the colour and the presentation of the product in the store, it’s fresh and light and the showcase is a stunner really, you could stand there for hours trying to choose.

Dufflet Rosenberg sold her first cake in 1975. Today Dufflet supplies over 500 restaurants, caterers and hotels. I have to admit, I find The Beaches overwhelmingly busy these days, this lovely little shop was a quiet get away from that, and I was glad to share it with good company.

I was in a lemon kind of mood (what else is new?) so I chose a lovely little lemon square. Cait chose a butter tart covered in chocolate. The lemon tart was light and refreshing, with a lovely shortbread base, the lemon ruled and that’s what I like in a lemon square, because frankly sometimes they can just taste like eggs. Cait’s tart was good, heavier and sweeter of course, we shared. Small indulgences indeed!


While there 3 people came in to pick up the carrot cake, that was a clear message and I will keep it in mind for next time. There was also this beautiful pink frosted gem in the showcase I couldn’t keep my eye off of.

We left this little sanctuary rested and ready to continue our trip down Queen to find cheese and wine. The little green box had 4 large tarts in it, two chocolate and two blueberry that we took for our great hosts. I can’t wait to return.

Dufflet has three retail cafes:

DOWNTOWN:
787 Queen Street West
Toronto, Ontario M6J 1G1
Telephone: (416) 504-2870
Email: retail@dufflet.com
Store Hours: Mon – Sat 10 am – 7 pm
Sun 12 pm – 6 pm

UPTOWN:
2638 Yonge Street
Toronto, Ontario M4P 2J5
Telephone: (416) 484-9080
Email: retail2@dufflet.com
Store Hours: Tues – Sat 10 am – 7 pm
Sun 12 pm – 5 pm
Mondays closed

BEACH:
1917 Queen Street East
Toronto, Ontario M4L 1H3
Telephone: (416) 699-4900
Email: retail3@dufflet.com
Store Hours: Mon – Thu 9 am – 7 pm
Fri 9 am – 8 pm
Sat 10 am – 8 pm
Sun 11 am – 6 pm

5 responses »

  1. Aww, that’s my old neighbourhood! I miss it 😦 Dufflets also has some things for sale in The Bagel Shop, small treats I think…I remember seeing them a while back. Where did you end up going for lunch?

Leave a Reply

