Benny’s Bistro

Invited out for lunch by my lovely daughter Friday we decided to head to Benny’s Bistro after it was suggested by a friend earlier in the week.
Lunch was divine.

I like the location, away from the busy centre of the Byward Market. I had shopped at the French Baker many times, but never ventured farther than the bakery in front. In the back we were first greeted by the wonderful smells coming from the open kitchen and then a seated by a very pleasant staff member.

The restaurant is bright, which makes up for a lack of windows, and not at all what I was expecting. It was also hot (not sure if it is air-conditioned). Suffering the heat however was certainly worth the delight of the lunch that awaited us.

They brought us fresh bread, butter and water. I ordered pan-seared scallops, with a panko encrusted cod cake, served with pork belly and a fava/ramp salad. The scallops were perfectly cooked, buttery and rich. The cod cake crust was crispy and golden and to my delight inside meaty chunks of delicate white fish. I tried to make this last as long as I could….

Cait ordered the salmon gravlax with fingerling potatoes, a sunny-side up egg and olive tapenade. She too was pleased with her choice. Of course we had to share, the lovely layers of her lunch reminded me of some of the best Sunday brunch I have had.

We couldn’t leave of course without dessert and a cafe au lait. We decided to share an almond tart (not the chocolate one, much to Cait’s dismay) not overly sweet, I found that it was a nice end to this lovely meal (the candied fruit inside was a pleasant surprise).

It’s also convenient to pick up fresh bread on the way out for the weekend. I will definitely go back, thinking it would be a good choice when the parents visit….

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

