Cold Soup, Hot Days

Give me a good, fresh tomato on a hot summer day and I will gladly make gazpacho. My favourite ever is from The Planet Bakery in Peterborough, Ontario. It’s Andalusian made with bread, I call it spicy deliciousness.

I make a version without the bread. Summer in a bowl I would say, it’s easy, inexpensive and makes enough for 8 people. The fresh veggies can be found at all of our local farmer’s markets this time of year. All you need to do is chop, dice and pour everything into your food processor (a blender will do in a pinch).

Sunday family dinner this week was a late lunch because most of us had a date with Geddy Lee at LeBreton flats. I served it up with fresh baguette and we sipped a pineapple, orange concoction created by my daughter.

3 tomatoes chopped
1 English cucumber chopped
1 small onion diced
1 green pepper diced
2 cloves garlic minced
3 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
2 tbsp. red wine vinegar
3-4 cups of fresh tomato juice (I use tomato juice only, mixed vegetable juice changes the flavour too much)
1 tbsp. fresh tarragon
1 tsp. fresh basil
1/2 cup fresh Italian parsley
1 tsp. white sugar
pinch salt
1/2 tsp. fresh ground black pepper

Put everything in the food processor (large bowl) and pulse on and off until desired consistency. My advice is to leave it a little chunky. Let chill for 2-4 hours before serving. I sprinkle the top of each bowl with some herbs and diced cucumber.

Great lunches with leftovers!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

