Getting to Know Raspberries

I will have to admit, of all berries I have never been particularly fond of the wee raspberry. I guess it may be because of the tartness, and my inability to draw any sweetness from them. I could never understand anyone’s interest in them.

For some reason this year it has changed. I can’t seem to get enough, it started with a pint I picked up at a farmer’s market and it seems to have grown. Grown so much in fact this week I bought raspberry jam and a raspberry lemonade.

I decided to make scones, and yes they would be raspberry. I have always liked everyone else’s scones but mine (Scone Witch and Auntie Loo’s come to mind). I must say that this little red berry has also changed that for me and I have decided to attempt other flavours.

These scones of mine were delicious, light and flaky (a little undercooked, but I have corrected this). The raspberries added a wonderfully sweet surprise in each bite and I was careful to keep them as whole as possible. We enjoyed them with tea in the afternoon on the deck.

The recipe is easy and you can use it with other fruit:

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter
1 cup fresh raspberries
1 egg
2/3 cup light cream

Directions:

In a bowl mix flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
Mix in the butter till the mixture becomes coarse.
Gently add the raspberries.
In a separate bowl beat the egg lightly.
Take out 1 tbsp of egg and keep aside.
To the remaining egg, add milk and mix.
Add this mixture to the dry ingredients.
Stir until evenly mixed and resembles dough.
Gather into a ball and turn out on a floured surface.
Pat gently into a round, 3/4 inch thick and cut in 8 pie shape wedges.
Place them on an un-greased cookie sheet and brush with the reserved egg.
Bake the scones at 425°F for 12 to 15 minutes or until a golden brown.
Serve hot with butter and whipped cream.

One response »

Leave a Reply

