Cottage Life

I want a cottage, I have always wanted one. They are like comfort food to me, they make me long for childhood days, full of good memories.

This yearning started early, I was six when we rented our first cottage on Lake Nipissing with cousins. Then when I was nine my Father rented a cottage on Cape Cod, memories of salt water, outdoor showers, fried clams have stayed with me. A visit later when I was thirteen sold me forever when Martha’s Vineyard stole my heart. There have been many cottages in between that I have loved and I don’t need a cottage on the Cape, anywhere will do really.

Of course I realize that these times have left their mark in part because of the food, picnic tables full of friends and family, corn on the cob, watermelon, burgers. The planning neccessary when one must take their own groceries.

This past weekend we spent a day at a friend’s cottage on Fraser Lake in Gatineau, it’s peaceful, easy feeling started those yearnings again. Our gracious hosts treated us like royalty, and we really appreciated the break it gave us away from the city.

Carol created a feast of roast lamb, pan seared salmon, grilled zuchinni, peppers stuffed with feta, black olives, red onions, and a fresh tomato salad. A lot of the veggies we ate came right from her garden. It was simple fare, dressed with fresh herbs and oils, that we enjoyed with cold beer.

Long leisurely afternoons by the lake, there is nothing really like them is there?

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

