Claude Chip Wagons

I am not a big fan of the French fry. Honestly no one believes me, and poutine scares me, I have had one in my life (tasted about 3). Fellow food bloggers (foodieprints) and many people I know have recently been blogging about poutine, participating in poutine crawls (one in particular supporting local athlete, Isabelle Rivard in her GIVETOLIVE challenge to raise $10,000 and bike 4265 km from Vancouver, BC to Austin, to take part in the LIVESTRONG Austin TX Challenge in October). I have also had a guest blogger write about poutine in Auckland. Even CTV is asking viewers to help discover the best chip truck in the region.

I do however live with a French fry lover, a man who worships poutine, but because I try to stay away he very seldom indulges (or at least that’s what he tells me).

My favourite chips can be found in Sturgeon Falls, Ontario my Father’s hometown and a place I have spent many, many holidays and weekends. There are two competing chip stands, The Riv and Larry’s, most of the folks I know would say they frequent The Riv and at one time they even had a “French Fry Festival”. I think I am a French fry snob because of these legendary fried potatoes, I have turned my nose up at most places outside of Sturgeon.

On our Saturday travels we happened upon Claude Chip Wagons on Ogilvie. I didn’t plan on blogging about this. First, I should not be eating French fries and second, well, I should not be eating French fries. All I can say now is Sturgeon, my heart, I may have found your match on a dusty, busy, intersection in the nation’s capital.

The fries were golden, crispy outside, light fluffy inside and to my delight almost greaseless and unsalted! Lovely PEI darlings. My partner in this combined lack of self-control ordered a medium poutine, the same wonderful chips, a smooth, velvety gravy and St. Albert’s curds. I tasted them, they were hopelessly, sinfully, delicious.



How could I not blog about these gems? I spied the owner, Claude Morin walking about greeting customers, explaining the reason for two chip trucks in one spot and handing out menus. With camera in hand I approached him and he was more than happy to speak with me. He explained that items such as salads, sported his homemade dressings, that one truck offered alternate choices like wraps and salads. He also told me he was familiar with his Sturgeon Falls counterparts. We briefly touched on poutine that was being served in high-end restaurants, how chef’s spins on the original were drawing new devotees. He just smiled when I mentioned duck and bacon being some of the more recent additions.

The place is busy, but the lines move quickly and the staff is knowledgeable and friendly. BTW, Claude also recommends The Riv for those visiting Sturgeon Falls.

Claude Chip Wagons
1060 Ogilvie Rd.
613-745-2295

If you choose to vote on the CTV web site, make sure you visit Claude Chip Wagons first!

FYI-Did you know that Belgians consume on average 165 pounds of fried potatoes per person each year, a third more than Americans?

6 responses »

  1. Claude’s is right up there. My teenager will want to check it out.

    It appears that top 10 ranking from votes on the CTV website and their Twitter page is totaling something like this right now:

    Wes’s Fries in Arnprior 32
    Glen’s on Richmond 12
    Poutine Queen in Almonte 11
    Claude’s Chip Stands – Cummings/Ogilvie 10
    JP’s Fries at Baseline and Clyde 8
    Magic Fryer at CT on Coventry Rd 7
    S&G’s at Maitland and Carling 7
    Fritimania on St Joseph Blvd Orleans 6
    Woody’s Pit Hwy 7 Innisville 5
    M&G Chipwagon at Bank/Sunnyside 5

  2. Hi Tracey,
    I am an employee of Claude Chip Wagons and he had mentioned to check your blog
    Wow is all I have to say you are a good blogger.
    I wanted to let you know i added a facebook group “Claude Chip Wagons” Please have a look and let me know what you think.
    Claude and I have talked about a website too so I’ll keep you posted
    Angelle

Leave a Reply

