Lemon Overload

I use a lot of lemons and if I am not using the juice I freeze it. During this hot weather I have been making lemonade for visitors, a great way to use up the lemon juice and who doesn’t love lemonade on a hot day?

Sometimes I add 1/4 cup of grated ginger for a ginger lemonade or a cup of pureed berries for raspberry or strawberry lemonade. For a more grown-up version I add a 1/4 cup of limoncello!

This people pleaser is easy…..

1 cup sugar
1 cup water
1 cup lemon juice
3 to 4 cups cold water

Directions
1 Make simple syrup by heating the sugar and water in a small saucepan until the sugar is dissolved completely.
2 Use a juicer to extract the juice from 4 to 6 lemons (enough for one cup of juice).
3 Add the juice and the sugar-water to a pretty pitcher. Add 3 to 4 cups of cold water (I use 4, but whatever works for you). Refrigerate for an hour before serving.
Add ice and sliced lemons.
Serves 4-6.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

