Perfectly Poached

Always in search of the perfectly poached egg, I have found moments of complete and utter joy (no kidding) when my plate appears with the oval-shaped lovely perched upon its bed of toast. I have also had moments of complete disappointment when I spy the hidden break and the slow seepage of golden sunshine or when the yolk is outside of its soft white skin, looking rough from a hard boil (my advice in moments like this is send it back, a good chef takes pride in his/her poached).

My Mom has always been able to poach a plate of perfection, her gentle way of preparing poached eggs has always been my guideline. I also look to my Dad who knows the best breakfast places by their service of course, but first by their ability to bring him his eggs looking like art on a plate. I understand his utter dismay at receiving a less than perfect pair on his toast. Call us Egg Elitist.

Everyone has their own version, and I am sure someone will find that mine doesn’t suit them, some addition that makes their recipe better and I welcome comments, advice tips, input, as always.

My Method

Take an egg, let it sit on the counter for a bit while prepping other things. Bring water in a small sauce pan to a boil (add a pinch of sea salt). Once the water has boiled turn it down a bit so it is a nice soft boil. Break the egg gently into a small dish (ramekinish) and carefully drop the egg into the water. Let the egg cook for about 4-5 minutes (depending on how you like your yolk, I prefer my medium with quite a soft centre). Remove from pan with a slotted spoon. My other rule, always put poached on top of toast…otherwise, what’s the point?


Poached eggs and the perfect cuppa’ can make for a great day. Looking forward to the weekend and my interview with Chris Marquis from Sandy Hill Lounge and Grill, who is also a master poacher!

4 responses »

  1. Love this!!! Poached eggs on toast the one food I could not live without!! The ultimate comfort food, if done right!! My Dad taught me how to make them, would enjoy them together after his midnight shift!! Thanks for the tips, I know what I’m having for breakfast!!!

Leave a Reply

