Raspberry Cupcakery

It was always a dream of mine to open a cupcake shop. I envy all of the women locally who have done it, because they have all done a marvelous job.

I serve cupcakes to celebrate really special occasions in our house. Recently I made them for my daughter Cait and her sister Chantal and although they are all grown-up, I felt the occasion deserved something pink and luscious, just like they would have liked as little girls.

I decided to make a raspberry buttercream this time. The raspberries were frozen but still did the trick. My usual super-sweet icing was mellowed by the tart raspberries. It truly was perfection if I do say so myself. Recipe below.

 Raspberry Buttercream

  • 1/2  cup  butter, softened
  • 1/2  cup  fresh raspberries (frozen is okay, really just let them thaw!)
  • 1  teaspoon  vanilla extra
  • 3-4 cups icing sugar

Mix the first three ingredients, then add icing sugar to desired consistency.

Yep, it was a “sweet” celebration!

3 responses »

  1. That raspberry buttercream sounds like a great addition to any cake and it makes your cupcakes look so pretty. I have a linky party going on at my blog called “Sweets for a Saturday” and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link this up.

Leave a Reply

