Soup Tales:Taking Stock

So I had this genius idea to make beef barley soup without using my own stock. More for the convenience of it. I thought I would get the same results. Should have known better.

I was so excited to see Rachel Ray’s Stock in a Box at Misto this past week. I thought this has got to be good, really, look how pretty the box is. Yeah that can be me sometimes, I have been known to buy my wine based on the label. Don’t judge, I know you have done it on occasion too.

The best beef barley soup hands down was the one created at the old Rockhaven Restaurant in Peterborough, Ontario (long since gone). Famous for their roast beef, they used to use leftover gravy to give the soup this thick, rich consistency and outstanding flavour. It was both a staff and customer favourite.

I always try to replicate their version, usually not too far off, my soup gets eaten with gusto.

So I tried to cut it short. Not saying the stock was not good, but it lacked flavour and was a little heavy on the sodium side (why was I surprised?). I would be willing to try it in another recipe, maybe.

Beef Barley Soup

2 cups good beef diced (leftover or fresh)
2 cloves garlic
1 onion chopped
8 cups stock (your own, or someone who makes good stock-trust me on this)
1/2 cup barley
2 large carrots diced
a sprig of thyme
splash of red wine

So if the beef is uncooked and your not using leftovers, throw it in a large pot with some good olive oil, the garlic and onion, cook over medium heat for 10 minutes. Add stock and the rest of the ingredients, bring to a bowl and then simmer for 40 minutes. The barley thickens things up.

Serve with crusty bread.

Leave a Reply

