Mercury Chocolates

I have a lot of chocolate loves. I consider CAMINO one of my closest friends. My own chocolate buttercream is heavenly (if I do say so myself). This past weekend in Cobourg, Ontario all I have known about this delicious treat was put to the test at Mercury Chocolates.

Custom artisan dessert chocolates created for restaurants and food shops, owner and chocolatier Darren Johns also sells retail out of his small shop (formerly the infamous Bill’s Pizza!) on George St. This guy is not only purchasing some of the best tasting chocolate I have ever had, but he is creating some of the most beautiful pop-in-your-mouth art I have ever seen.

I normally prefer my chocolate within the 70% cocoa range. I have trouble with the taste of a lot of chocolate because it can be far too bitter. Darren’s chocolates are the smoothest I have tasted in this range, no bitterness with these little darlings.

I think the offering of a few chocolates on the dessert menu at a restaurant is the perfect ending to a meal. Not too big, just the right size to soothe that sweet craving after dinner. Northside Grill in Cobourg has got it right with Mercury Chocolates.

Next time you’re in Northumberland County make sure you stop at Mercury Chocolates. A little piece of heaven in my favourite place in the world. I suggest the Okanagan Cherry.

5 responses »

  1. Just had the chocoate today at Darren’s store. Utterly, to die for as was the expresso. Both smooth and memorable. REally can’t say enough about both. Go and try it out yourself.

Leave a Reply

