Play Food and Wine

As always it takes me forever to get to the good stuff. So when the number one daughter paid us a visit last weekend we did a girl’s spa trip to York St. and then to Play Food and Wine for a fabulous lunch.

We started with the Arctic Char Gravlax and local mushrooms on toast. The Arctic Char was lovely with fingerling potatoes. It’s flavours reminded me of summer, the smoky warmth of the fish was complimented by the fresh, creamy fingerlings. I would love to serve this for Sunday brunch on the patio.

We also ordered the PEI Mussels with fingerling potatoes and Hanger Steak with frites. I now know why everyone I talk to orders the Hanger Steak. The beef was tender and sweet, it really did melt in your mouth (as I am writing this, I am craving more). The frites were served with a fresh, creamy aioli (creamy dips really are heaven, aren’t they?).

I love the idea of 2 plates for $20 at lunch, it really gives one an opportunity to try a number of incredible dishes for a reasonable price. I also really liked the wine pairings, and we both chose lovely whites, Cait had the Gruner Veltliner, Rabl and I had the Cote Est from Domaine Lafage.

Lunch for two with wine and tip was $75.00.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

