The Planet Bakery

It’s been a long time since I last visited The Planet Bakery in Peterborough. A funky, retro vegetarian bakery and restaurant with some of the best tasting non-meat dishes on the planet (yeah, I said that). So when my lovely girl Cait asked where I wanted to go for Mother’s Day it was the first place I thought of (and so delighted it’s open Sunday’s now).

One of my favourite plates at The Planet is the Texan a spicy, flavour-packed chili over a plain egg omelet served with the bakery blue-corn flax bread (or you can try their famous potato-cheddar loaf). I love the addition of mushrooms to this chili, also appreciate that you can choose a half order. I also like to order a side of sour cream.

Another brunch companion ordered the Brie-Stuffed French Toast.

Other favourites at this fun eatery are, the Breakfast Burrito, the Cranberry/Brie Sandwich and the Rosemary Walnut Burger. This is the place where I fell in love with pumpkin lasagne. Wonderful soup makers, they have two choices daily. They also have great daily specials, and frankly they need to change it up a bit as the menu has remained the same for as long as I can remember, but in this case I am the first to admit, why ruin a good thing, especially when it works?

The best, biggest darn Ginger cookies ever (Alice Medrich watch out!)!!!

I’ve been a fan for a long, long time and now it’s an even more special event as I can’t get there as often. It was the perfect Mother’s Day brunch.

3 responses »

  1. Their summer menu should be coming out soon. They have the best Gazpacho around! Its so fresh and full of flavour, definitely my fav on their summer menu!

Leave a Reply

