Stella Luna Gelato Café

On a recent visit to Sunnyside I happened upon Stella Luna Gelato Café. Curious about the popularity of the place and the buzz around their gelato I decided to go in.

I was looking for a pistachio and Stella’s Sicilian Pistachio made on sight from scratch did the trick. One taste of this creamy, lusciously smooth treat and I was hooked. Owner Tammy Giuliani stopped by my table and suggested I try her new Pumpkin Pie flavour. She brought it to me in a lovely little sundae dish, topped with real whipped cream. This new flavour put me in mind of the up-coming holiday, it tasted exactly like my favourite holiday pie. I also got to taste their blood orange gelato and now I know what a friend meant the other day when she said she craves it.

This is a truly outstanding product and we are lucky to have them here. They did exactly what they intended to, brought a piece of their Italy to Ottawa.

Stella Luna’s deliciousness doesn’t stop there. They also serve sorbetto, frappe, smoothies, panini, waffles, crepes and hot beverages. I can’t wait to go back! My suggestion if you haven’t been, go as soon as you can.

Stella Luna Gelato Café, 1103 Bank St., Ottawa 613-523-1116

2 responses »

  1. I will have to put Stella Luna on my bucket list, but until I get there, I may have to try making a humble version of the pumpkin pie flavor myself (I came back a while ago from a visit to a gelato shop in Nauplion, Greece, inspired to buy an ice-cream maker!) Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

