Summer Berry Love

So this is the thing, I have hardly been in the kitchen. I can think of every excuse in the book, I’m too busy, I prefer someone else’s food, food block (not unlike writers block which I also suffer from at times). All excuses.

Heading to a cottage for a few days, I try to decide what to take. The regular suspects, wine, munchies, bacon and things of that sort go into my bag but what about something sweet? I could buy a pie (lazy I know). I needed to put some effort into this.

So…… its summer and there are berries. Easy and delicious right? And I have everything I need. I decided to whip a little blueberry/strawberry crisp together and there you have it, something sweet.

I always have fresh fruit. As well I also make sure to have some frozen (smoothies) and in this recipe I had a bit of both.

Berries

My crumbly topping is basically like buttery oatmeal cookies, I prefer nutmeg to cinnamon and I use whole nutmeg for the best flavor.

Nutmeg

For this recipe I used a small loaf pan (only two of us), which provides enough of this goodness for breakfast on yogurt.

Before oven

Easy Berry Crisp

4 cups of berries (your choice)

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1/4 cup of sugar

2 tablespoons of lemon juice

3/4 cup rolled oats

1/3 cup flour

1/3 cup brown sugar

4 tablespoons butter

pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 375.

Mix the first 4 ingredients and put them into a prepared loaf pan. Mix the rest of the ingredients until crumbly and spoon it over top of the fruit. Bake for 40 minutes.

This-

final Berry Crisp

Any berries, fresh or frozen. Use what you’ve got. This is an easy one.

Leave a Reply

